WILD SORROW by Sandi Ault

Home - sandiault.com
WILD PENANCE
WILD SORROW
WILD INFERNO
WILD INDIGO
WILD News
WILD Bunch
WILD Mystery Tour Album
Sandi's WILD Blog
Events with Author Sandi Ault
JOIN SANDI on FACEBOOK!
Media Room - Photos and Bio
Meet Mountain - The Wolf in WILD INDIGO
WILD Things
Wolves! Sandi's WILD Research
Exploring the Southwest

CLICK ON COVER
WILDSORROWcover.jpg
TO SEE A LARGER IMAGE

WILD SORROW by Sandi Ault

Winner of the Willa Award for Best Contemporary Fiction from Women Writing the West

Winner of the SPUR Finalist Award for Best Western Short Novel from Western Writers of America 

While tracking a wounded mountain lion onto a desolate canyon rim, Jamaica and her wolf Mountain come across an old Indian School, a place where children were "Americanized" after being taken from their homes. As a snowstorm sweeps the canyon, Jamaica is forced to take refuge in the abandoned school.
As she explores her impromptu haven, Jamaica discovers the desecrated body of an elderly Anglo woman, frozen on the floor. This discovery, combined with the obviously troubled history of the abandoned school, haunts Jamaica throughout the night with the sorrowful howling of the icy wind.
After the storm, the FBI take over the murder investigation as Jamaica continues to search for the wounded she-lion and her cubs. As the dead of winter settles on the mesa, arctic temperatures threaten the survival of the mountain lions—and Jamaica herself, as she is stalked and terrorized by the unidentified killer . . .

Now in TRADE Paperback! Available at booksellers everywhere.

SANDI'S WOLF TIWA
TIWAATRUIN.JPG
AT THE SITE WHERE WILD SORROW IS SET

The Critics All Agree: WILD SORROW is a hit!
 
"A crackling mystery, ‘Wild Sorrow' also combines Ault's lovely nature writing with her indignation over the way Indian children were mistreated at the boarding schools.  It's a potent mix, and Ault invests it with chilling authenticity and suspense - and an epilogue that will break your heart."—Jay Strafford, Richmond Times Dispatch

"Fans of the late Tony Hillerman will embrace Ault's outstanding third mystery... Ault's wildlife expertise and knowledge of Tanoah culture enhance a poignant plot."Publishers Weekly, STARRED Review

"Ault's talents go far beyond devising a suspense-driven plot; she layers this enjoyable tale with her considerable knowledge of Native American customs and history. I'm not the first to say it, nor will I be the last: Fans of Nevada Barr and Tony Hillerman will be enthralled with this series. If you aren't yet a fan of this... author...you should be."—New Mexico Magazine

"I read the outstanding new mystery Wild Sorrow...If Ault's gripping storytelling skills weren't enough to make this a compelling read, there is also her ability to convey the beauty and power of the landscape...Ault is often compared to the late Tony Hillerman. While it's an honorable and helpful comparison, it's also a bit unfair. Ault's novels are unique and original, and they deserve to stand on their own. Last year, Ault's Wild Infernowas recognized by Publishers Weekly as one of the Best Books of 2008. Wild Sorrow should be a strong favorite to make the list in 2009...Ault, like many a great storyteller of the American West, understands the richness of 'deep time.' And we are fortunate she has once again given us a glimpse into the great heritage of a great people."—Kurtis Kelly, The Estes Park Trail Gazette

"Ault has the background to write this outdoor series, and it shows on every page. ...You might as well turn off the phone and lock the door, you are in it until the very last page releases its hold on you. About the book: The suspense is one thing - and there is plenty of it - but you will feel like you're reading a literary work at the same time. Ault uses the language in unique ways."—Nancy Hansford, The Coloradoan

"Cross best-selling author Tony Hillerman with veteran author Sue Grafton and what have you got - the best of both worlds in a hybrid writer named Sandi Ault... The result is a set of mysteries that leave fans breathless by the end of the first chapter."—Susan Johnson, Sedona Red Rock News

"In this third installment of a high-action mystery series set in Taos County... Swirling around the search for the killer, Ault rolls in several subplots amid swiftly changing scenes. Ault earned a special Edgar prize - a Mary Higgins Clark Award winner for her debut mystery. She's a master at describing nature."—David Steinberg, The Albuquerque Journal

"Since the release of her first novel in 2007, WILD INDIGO, author Sandi Ault has wowed reviewers and thrilled readers with her stories featuring tough protagonist Jamaica Wild and her pet wolf, Mountain... Now, Sandi continues to take the West by storm with the third novel in her WILD Mystery Series, WILD SORROW... What started as a search for a mountain lion quickly becomes much more."—Jullie Compton, The Big Thrill

"Sandi Ault aims for both the heart and the stomach. And she nails both. Neither blow is an accident...She is already being compared to Hillerman."—Bo Parker, Cobbledstones Reviews

"This is one Wild adventure you will not want to miss. You will find yourself caught up in every adventure, dangerous incident and issue Jamaica and Mountain face. Put Wild Sorrow on your list of "must haves" and you will not be sorry."—Phyllis Burns, Native America Online

"The whodunit is exciting because no one, not even the heroine, knows why she has [come] under siege. Sandi Ault provides readers with a deep vivid look at the life of a Pueblo inside an entreating outdoors' mystery."—Harriet Klausner, Mystery Gazette/Genre Go Round

"With her skillful word crafting, respect for the Indian traditions and loving descriptions of the wildlife and nature around her, author Sandi Ault weaves a wonderful story full of cliff hanging action, mystic Pueblo Indian lore and just the right touch of romance."—Rhonda Esakov, StoryCircle Reviews

"Ault has written another memorable mystery . . . Ault is a visual writer and that brings another rich layer to the deep emotions and historical portions of her novels. I think that  . . . it only adds to the beauty of her writing. I rooted with fervor . . . and can't wait for the next Wild mystery."—Andrea Sisco, Armchair Interviews

Here's your opportunity to see how a real Southwest Mystery gets made! To visit a behind-the-scenes page of SandiAult.com, and see photos from Sandi Ault's WILD SORROW Research Expedition, click HERE:

THE CREW FROM THE WILD SORROW LAUNCH PARTY
TourPhotos/launchgroupsorrow.jpg
AT SHAWNEE INDIAN MISSION

sagowildlogo.jpg

sandiault.com Copyright 2014, Sandi Ault, All Rights Reserved
Music by Sandi Ault, Photos by Tracy A. Kerns and Sandi Ault unless otherwise stated
All Rights Reserved
www.sandiault.com
mail@sandiault.com